My Kintsugi Story

This is Day 27 of my Write 31 Days series for 2017: 31 Days of Kintsugi.
For an index of all the posts in the series, please click here.

broken piano

Today and tomorrow, I am going to share two of my own Kintsugi stories.  Tomorrow’s story is recent and still on-going; today’s is from several years ago.

As I looked at the notice board I felt my dream shatter before me.  For months I had been desperately trying to hold it together, but now all that remained was a heap of broken pieces.

I thought back to the day, nine months earlier, when I had entered music college for the first time, and I remembered my hope and optimism.  I had worked so hard to get there, and I had been overjoyed that my dream was coming true.

What had gone so badly wrong?

From the start it had been difficult.  A family bereavement during the second week had thrown me off course,  and from the very beginning there had been the constant feeling that I was different from everybody else- that I didn’t quite fit in and that, whatever I did, I was never going to be good enough.

As the year went on the atmosphere, which was competitive to the point of hostility, had started to get to me.  It was dog-eat-dog, every man for himself, and I cannot thrive in that kind of atmosphere.

I poured in everything I had and found that it was never enough.  I would go home every day, physically aching all over from the stress of it all.

All year I had persevered.  I had worked hard, trying to hold it all together, and continued striving to pursue my dream, but as I looked at the notice board and saw the grade for my performance exam, I knew it was over.

It felt like complete brokenness.

To my surprise though, the next thought that came to mind was a Bible verse I had learned as a child: “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  (Romans 8:28 NIV)

It was such a bizarre thought to have at that moment that I knew it must have been from God and, over the next few months, it became something to cling to.  I couldn’t see how God could work this situation for good, but I had to trust that somehow he would.

It took a while to recognise but, looking back, I can see how God worked amazing beauty from that situation.  Kintsugi is not a quick process, and the work of art he was creating took shape very gradually but, around five years after that moment of brokenness, I was at last able to look back and thank God, believing that the brokenness had been worth it for the beauty, realising that it was a beauty that would probably not have existed without the brokenness.

I learned how to pick myself up and try again, and over the next few years I completed a degree in music elsewhere, in a much friendlier and less pressurised environment where I made good friends and did well.

The real beauty, though, was found in my relationship with God.  I hadn’t realised how much I had come to depend on music for my feeling of worth or my sense of purpose.  Music had given me confidence, and my sense of hope depended on succeeding, so it had become the focus of my life.

It was only when that was stripped away that I realised that what I really needed was God- that he was where I needed to find my worth and my identity, that he provided a secure place where I could put my hope, whatever the circumstances of life.

In many ways it was a turning point.  While I completed my music degree, and I continue to love music, it was no longer the most important thing, and I decided to follow a different line of work- one where I could give people the hope they really needed and tell them about Jesus.

Every summer for the last seven years, it has been a joy and a privilege to be involved in leadership of a music camp for teenagers, which includes music rehearsals as they work towards a concert at the end of the week, but also Bible teaching keeping them grounded in the truth, and in what really matters.

I praise God that he has made me “strong at the broken places” and enabled me to use my experience to help others.

Painful as they were at the time, as I look back I have nothing but gratitude for the circumstances that stripped away my dependence on self and drew me close to the God we can truly depend on, who can make something beautiful out of our brokenness.

31 Days of Kintsugi button

Crystal Twaddell      Grace & Truth : A Weekly Christian Link Up     

Faith on Fire | lylidunbar.com

 

16 thoughts on “My Kintsugi Story

  1. I can’t tell you how i have looked forward to each new morning during these devotionals. I will be sorry when the end of the month is here. What a challenge they have been in my broken life as i ponder the beauty that comes from brokenness when we allow our Creator to do his work in our lives. I have been challenged to share what God has done and not be ashamed of my story. Thank you for sharing these with us. I am I awe of my Redeemer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for your encouragement, Cheryl, and for following along during this series. I’m glad you have seen God working in your brokenness and I pray that he will show you how to share your story and use that to give hope to others.

      Like

  2. I so relate to your story. We are writing about such similar things. I am so glad that you didn’t turn your back on music after that competitive environment.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a stunning story, Lesley. He sure does speak His Word so powerfully into us at just the right time, doesn’t He? I am so glad He led you to a place that encouraged, rather than stifled the beautiful gifts He has given you. I love how you are using that to bless young people. They are seeing so much Jesus in you. Thank you for all your encouragement through your series. I haven’t always commented, but your posts have helped me fix my eyes on Jesus in the midst of my own and others’ brokenness. For that I am so thankful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Anna! I’m so glad you have been encouraged by the series. Thanks for encouraging me too. I’m sorry I’ve not been visiting your blog so much with all the Write 31 Days busyness but hopefully I’ll get there over the weekend!

      Like

  4. How glad I am that you shared this story, Lesley. I know the feelings you shared here so well. We’re taught to find our value and identity in what we can accomplish. When we fail, it’s a bitter pill indeed. I’m so glad that you picked yourself up and kept going. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Marie! There is definitely a lot of pressure in culture today that success and achievement are the most important things, but they are not a secure place to put our hope. I’m glad I realised that and I’m grateful for how God worked through that whole situation.

      Like

Leave a Reply

