One Word 2024

One of the unexpected discoveries I made through blogging is the concept of having a word for the year. The idea is that instead of making New Year’s resolutions or setting lots of goals, you choose one word to focus on throughout the year.

When I first heard about the idea, I was sceptical, but then I gave it a try, and I was amazed by the impact a single word could have. Some years the word has had a dramatic impact on my life, and other years it has been more subtle, but I would say, with the exception of 2020 (which was an unusual year in every way), I have always benefitted from a one-word focus.

The words I’ve had so far have been:

2016 – Surrender
2017 – Voice
2018 – Focus
2019 – Truth
2020 – Vision
2021 – Faithfulness
2022 – Embrace

As 2022 drew to a close, no inspiration struck for a word for 2023. I prayed about it but no word came to mind, and I didn’t want to choose one just for the sake of it, so I had no word for 2023.

I thought 2024 was going to be the same, until in the last couple of days before the new year, a word came to mind and refused to go away. After taking some time to think more about the word, I think it is time to commit to focussing on this word during 2024, so my word for this year is “Open.”

As usual, I’m not sure exactly what direction it will take me in, but as I looked up the definition there were so many aspects of the word that appealed to me in different ways.

  • “not closed or fastened”
  • “honest and not trying to keep things secret”
  • “ready to be used or to provide a service”
  • “available, not limited”
  • “not decided or certain”
  • “to begin”
  • “to perform before the main performer in a show”

I definitely want to be more open to God this year – to be available and ready to serve him – but also to be open-minded to what he is saying and how he is leading me. I like the definition “not decided or certain” because it reminds me that it is not all about my ideas and plans. It is not about me having a fixed idea of how I think things should work out, but being open to what he wants.

As a musician, I also loved the definition, “to perform before the main performer in a show”. It reminded me of John the Baptist preparing the way for Jesus, and I love how clearly John understood that his role was to point ahead to someone greater: “He must become greater and greater, and I must become less and less.” (John 3:30 NLT)

I would also like to be more open with others. Opening up has been a gradual process for most of my adult life, and while I am much more open than I was ten or twenty years ago, I am still a work in progress.

“Open” is not a word for the year that comes with lots of fixed goals. It’s more about developing an attitude, and I’m excited to see where it will lead me this year.

What about you? Do you have a word for the year, or have you set goals for 2024?
Feel free to share in the comments.

Linking with: Inspire Me MondayTell His StoryInstaEncouragementsLet’s Have CoffeeTune In ThursdayGrace & Truth

29 thoughts on “One Word 2024

  1. Wonderful word! I love your reflections and look forward to seeing where your journey will take you. I chose a word for 2022 – connect – and appreciated all it brought me, but didn’t feel called to this exercise again. Maybe I will in future.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The thought of a yearly word is nice, Lesley. For me, I focus on a word each month. This month of January came from a sermon at church. Our pastor was encouraging us the “Behold the Lord”. So actually, my word this month is three. 😂 ‘Behold the Lord’

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Trudy! I’d forgotten that Open was your word of the year. I couldn’t think of anyone else having that word before. I really enjoyed going back and reading your post. I think your idea of having a verse to focus on each week is a great one too. Love and blessings to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the word, “Open” Lesley, it has such depth and diversity of meaning! I was just speaking to someone about this word yesterday, about remaining “open” in attitude and stance toward what God has for them in 2024. Being open doesn’t mean we accept everything that may come our way, but we will never even see the possibilities if we have a “closed” mindset!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Leslie, such a good word. It will be interesting to read about your journey this year with “open.” As you open your heart to the Lord, He is certain to guide you in all your days.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.